It was a proud day for the School of Microbiology, Biochemistry and Genetics at UKZN, when the Microbiology Students’ Society (MICROSOC) was launched on the Westville campus. 

MICROSOC was initiated by students who share a love of Microbiology, and are motivated to make knowledge useful for everyone who has interest in Microbiology.

The society was founded in September, 2010. The Steering Committee was chaired by the Head of Microbiology, Dr Ademola Olaniran, and included most of the current Executive Committee members. The team has received the full support of the Head of School, Professor Bala Pillay and Department staff, who pledged generously toward the start-up of the society.

The launch at the Comsa Lounge was attended by Pillay as well as other dignitaries from the Department. Mr Phephelani Zondi, a featured poet from GagasiFm, presented  inspirational poetry.

The Executive Committee is made up of: Miss Rose Mokhosi, President; Mr Mlungisi Mtolo, Deputy-President; Mr Bafana Madida, General Secretary; Miss Tahni-Ann Wilson, Assistant General Secretary; Mr Thomas Hayangah, Treasurer; Miss Silindile Ngobese, Events Co-ordinator; and Miss Nompilo Ngaleka; Public Relations Officer.

To find out more about the society and its activities, visit facebook (Microsoc- UKZN Westville) or

author email :